Healthy Banana Chocolate Chip Mini Muffins GF + DF

Sugar makes my kid nuts.

my bunky

I was going to start this post with a very boring bit about not making New Year’s resolutions, but how I’d like to try baking with less refined sugar, blah blah blah. It makes me yawn just typing that. The bottom line is, well, it’s the top line. Sugar makes Bunky crazy, and since she has always been a bit extreme, even as a baby (colic), it’s best to keep the crazy down. The kind I can control, anyhow.

It’s no wonder she’s a sugar monger, since I am. We kept it away from her for as long as possible, but when you bake, there’s usually sugar in there. Quite a bit now that I’m paying attention. Over the past year + of being a celiac mama, I’ve come across more food and recipe sites than I can shake a stick at, and lately I’ve found myself veering away from the sugar bombs I usually gravitate toward and am experimenting with dates, coconut sugar, maple syrup, honey. Don’t get me wrong – I will always love the white stuff, and I doubt I will ever become one of those no refined sugar ever people, but now that Little Guy wants to eat everything we do, it’s important for me to at least TRY to keep the white stuff at bay.

This leads me to my latest recipe for yumma-licious Banana Chocolate Chip mini muffins. Which happen to be vegan, if you’re into that sort of thing.

banana chip muffins

If you’ve been following this blog, you may remember that I’m a huge banana fan. One of the first recipes I converted to GF was a modest yet perfectly delightful Banana Bread (with chocolate chips, of course).

Now this new recipe is adapted from Gazing In’s Vegan Banana Chip Muffins. I tweaked it a bit to make it gluten free and mini. I love how you can use your food processor or blender for the (wet) batter. Little Guy happens to LOVE the Cuisinart after living in mortal fear of it for months. Now I let him push the “on” button and he makes funny chirping noises as it whirls around.

Satisfied customer.

He is really into his belly.

And the muffins.

And the muffins.

The healthy thing about these suckers is that there is no oil, butter or eggs (hence, vegan) and it only uses ½ cup of sugar. If you use coconut sugar, health benefits go up. I use what I’ve got, which is usually cheapo light brown sugar, though after reading this article about how brown sugar is about just as bad for you as white, I may invest in coconut sugar, which incidentally tastes lovely in my morning coffee. But kinda pricey. Oh, it’s expensive being healthy sometimes.

muffins 1

Healthy Banana Chocolate Chip Mini Muffins GF + DF

Ingredients:

  • spray to grease muffin tins (or butter if you’d like)
  • 3 ripe bananas
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened coconut milk
  • 2 tablespoons of apple cider vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1+1/2 cups gluten free all purpose flour (I use my own blend)
  • 3/4 teaspoon of xanthan gum (omit if your blend contains it)
  • 1/2 cup coconut sugar or light brown sugar, packed
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1+1/2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon fine sea salt (or whatever, just not the chunky kind)
  • 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips (use Enjoy Life brand for dairy free)

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray or use butter to grease two 12 cup mini muffin tins (or one 12 cup regular muffin tin).

2. Place the bananas, coconut milk, apple cider vinegar, and vanilla into a food processor or blender and whirl away until smooth. Pause to scrape down sides and blend again.

3. In a large bowl whisk the dry ingredients together (not including chips). Then add the wet mixture to dry and stir well. Then fold in the chocolate chips, if desired.

Batter after chips have been added.

Batter after chips have been added.

4. Using a tablespoon, which is a nifty trick, spoon batter into the mini muffin tins.

Best thing about vegan muffins? You can totally lick the spoon (and bowl) without feeling like you might be poisoning yourself.

IMG_1849

Chips and no chips.

The top tin has chips, the bottom doesn’t. Little Guy gets the plain ones. They’re good, too.

5. Bake for about 10 minutes. Check for doneness by sticking a toothpick or knife in the center, which should come out clean. Let cool in tins for 5 minutes then pop them out on a plate to cool completely.

Makes at least 24 mini muffins. My last batch made 30. If you want you can make 12 regular sized muffins. If so, bake for 20 minutes.

Note: It may be necessary to hide these from your spouse. Or yourself.

I’m happy to have shared this post at the Gluten-Free Friday’s link up party hosted by Vegetarian Mamma, and Simply Sugar and Gluten Free’s Slightly Indulgent Tuesdays. Click the links to find more great GF recipes.

13 thoughts on “Healthy Banana Chocolate Chip Mini Muffins GF + DF

  1. I love coconut (palm) sugar. I was getting it locally (Wholesome Sweetener brand) and then the store was “Oh, it was seasonal” What?? How is that “seasonal”?? Sigh. Now I am getting it via Amazon. The taste is so clean!

    • Hi Sarah! Thanks again for the awesome Vegan Banana Muffin recipe that I adapted this from. The coconut (palm) sugar is pretty great. How bizarre they called it seasonal?! I definitely need to buy more. Maybe from Amazon since it’s so pricey at my local stores. Looking forward to more great recipes from your blog. I made your lemony swiss chard spaghetti the other day. It’s one of my favorites.

  2. Dana,
    Thank you for posting this. I am obsessed with bananas and muffins and we just got a food processor for Christmas (it was one of those items which we did not know to register for when we got married!) I will make the muffins and share with other GF families. Also, in regards to your last post, we would definitely be in for a GF playgroup if we lived near you (we are in WI).
    Jess

    • Hi Jess, you’re welcome! I’m glad to know I’m not the only banana obsessed baker around here 🙂 We never registered for a big food processor either. We had a mini one which actually was great for a married couple, but not great for a family, ha. Let me know how the muffins turn out and if your family likes them. Too bad we’re all so spread out across the country, but it is nice to meet you all and feel the support over the internet.

  3. I saw her post on this recipe! I love that you made it gluten-free! They look delicious. I also love coconut sugar….so sweet and floral-like…a much more pleasing sweetness than regular sugar. Now, I’m hungry! 😉

  4. Such cuties in the pics! These muffins sound great!
    Thanks for linking up at our Gluten Free Fridays party! I have tweeted and pinned your entry to our Gluten Free Fridays board on Pinterest! 🙂

    On the Gluten Free Fridays tab we have new badges for you to display on your blog. There are a few different choices for you. There are varying sizes as well. If you’ve had a featured recipe in the past, feel free to grab one of those badges as well! They are free for the taking; use as you wish! Thanks for supporting our GF community and spreading the word!

    Thanks for linking back to the Gluten Free Fridays post!

    See you at the link up this week!

    Cindy from vegetarianmamma.com

    • Thanks Cindy! I love your new GF Friday badges. I’ll definitely pick one up. I love the option of having different sizes, especially because I’m so computer illiterate sometimes 🙂 See you for this week’s link up!

  5. Pingback: Awesome Egg Bowl with Coconut Rice GF + DF | celiac kiddo

  6. I was more than happy to uncover this great site. I wanted to thank you for ones time due to this fantastic read!! I definitely liked every part of it and i also have you saved to fav to check out new information in your website.

  7. Pingback: How-to Gluten Free Flour Blend | celiac kiddo

  8. Pingback: DIY Gluten Free Flour Blend | celiac kiddo

Leave a comment