Gluten Free Product Review Round-up

Earlier this month we spent our anniversary family-style at our country house upstate, and unlike the last trip (Easter weekend began with sun AND ended with snow!) this was summery without a spec of precipitation. It was filled with fun outdoor activities like lake swimming, sand castle building, marshmallow roasting, salamander catching (and releasing), and of course eating.

kids at lake

Red salamanders at the house and lots of green ones at the lake.

Red salamanders at the house and lots of green ones at the lake.

The eating part is surprisingly easy since the gluten free section at the local Peck’s grocery store is AWESOME! Seriously, it’s better than our grocery in Brooklyn. This makes our trips a lot easier knowing we can pick up a complete stash of Udi’s products, plus cookies, crackers, cake mixes, and more instead of packing our usual fridge/freezer/pantry arsenal.

I found a couple of new items that my family loved and I want to share here. I rarely do product reviews, but I should do more because there’s nothing worse than spending a zillion dollars on a dry meh GF cookie or a weird rubbery wrap.

scary face

Am I right?! (Gotta love Photo Booth.)

Have I mentioned how sad I am about gluten free bread lately? [sidebar alert] As much as I love Udi’s and am eternally grateful for their brand, I can’t handle how crumbly and hole-y the bread can be. It’s gotten to the point where I feel bad about giving it to my kids, especially Little Guy who is particularly sensitive to stale tasting bread. Maybe poor Bunky is used to it after all these years. Sigh.

Recently we tried Glutino White Bread, and it is SOFT, seriously insanely soft. You don’t even have to toast it! Less healthy than the whole grain Udi’s, sure, but you know, sometimes you need to be able to chew your sandwich without gagging.

Glutino_Bread_White_Sandwich-250x250

So, that was sort of an unofficial review, and now for the rest from our upstate stash…

Udi’s Gluten Free Flour Tortilla Wraps 

After years of eating quesadillas (practically a food group around here) on stiff yellow circles also known as store bought corn tortillas, I discovered these beauties.

The bread might not always be awesome, but these wraps totally are!

They are enormous and soft GF flour tortillas (they also sell smaller ones). Oh, Udi’s, I know I just bad talked your bread, but you nailed these. I used them for our regular shredded cheddar quesadillas, but also for a sweet breakfast tortilla (!) which tasted like a thick crepe, using our new favorite White Chocolate Peanut Butter and sliced banana. OMG! Unfortunately, I haven’t found these in Brooklyn yet (!) but the next time we go upstate, I’m stocking up.

Even a paper plate can't cheapen the experience.

Even a paper plate can’t cheapen the experience.

Next up…

Maple Grove Farms Gluten Free Pancake and Waffle Mix

maple grove farms gf mix

Speaking of breakfast, have you tried this mix? If not, you should give it a try because it’s awesome. Plus, there’s NO added sugar, which is not necessarily true for other mixes (Bisquick, I’m talking to you). It’s super easy to make either pancakes or waffles and both have been successful for us. I used to like making my own homemade pancakes, and still do on occasion, but it’s also nice to have the convenience of a mix, especially when your kids wake you up before dawn.

Now, no trip to the country would be complete without copious amounts of Haagen Dazs ice cream. A moment of props to HD – want to know how many ingredients are in their traditional vanilla? FIVE. Cream, sugar, skim milk, egg yolks, and vanilla extract. Nothing fake, no “natural flavor” scams, nothing. Just real food.

Normally we eat it in a bowl because GF cones are not always easy to come by… except upstate where they sell these awesome ones:

Joy Gluten Free Sugar Cones

Isn't my cone model adorable?!

Isn’t my cone model adorable?!

These GF sugar cones are really tasty! They also make gluten free cake cones, by the way. One day we’ll give those a try. In the meantime, the sugar cones are rad. We all really enjoyed eating them all filled up with drippy vanilla and chocolate ice cream. The only caveat is that they leak at the bottom, but you can use your finger as a stopper, ha, or better yet melt some chocolate down there. Oh, yeah.

bunky and cone

Eating outside makes ice cream taste even better, don’t you think?

Everything outside is better in the summer. Salamander catching included.

kids and salamander

Have you had any fantastic gluten free finds lately? If so, bring it on in comments. I can always use some new ideas. And let me know if you try any of my suggestions. We GFers have to stick together, you know?

 

16 thoughts on “Gluten Free Product Review Round-up

    • You’re welcome! Can you get Udi’s in Canada? Their soft tortilla wraps were a big hit. I’d like to try making them myself, one of these days, because like most gf things they are not cheap, however, they did taste pretty fantastic.

  1. I’m gluten-free to help migraines, so not as serious as yours. I get wiggle room. I love the Domino’s gluten-free pizza. Pretty close to the real thing–and almost as good as Whole Food’s version.

  2. Dana don’t get me started on the bread in Australia it is awful and inedible unless toasted I am waiting for the day they make a soft loaf you don’t have to toast. Things are changing slowly and I make my own bread, pizza bases sometimes and the boy loves a scone or two. Wish I could get your products over here.

    • Kath, I’m so impressed you bake so much! I used to bake more, but never breads or pizza. The whole GF bread thing is pretty depressing. It’s overpriced and often not very good 😦 I’d like to make my own, but feel overwhelmed by the time and effort involved. However, there are some better products coming out here in the US which is a relief. I’m sorry to hear it’s not so great in Australia, but hopefully change will happen sooner than later.

      • Dana the bread is nice for about one day out of the oven and the pizza base is a bit stiff and not real nice the second day reheated either but yes things are changing.

  3. Hooray for White Chocolate Wonderful! I love that stuff, along with many other PB&Co varieties. Spreading it on a “quesadilla” is such a good idea. “Mantequilla de maní” is apparently the Spanish word for peanut butter, I just learned from Google (no help from the “learn Spanish” CDs, apps, etc. that I have purchased over the years), so maybe it should be called a mantequilladilla.

    I’m also a fan of those sugar cones, but I haven’t tried most of the other products you reviewed, so thanks for sharing! I’ll have to look them up.

    • Oh my gosh, the white chocolate flavor is INSANE (eating it right now on an Udi’s bagel)! So so good. As is the dark chocolate and the honey PB. I love that company.

      Ha ha to mantequilladilla! What a mouthful, literally and figuratively 🙂 and just so you know, my Spanish is horrendous despite taking it from junior high through college. And I spent a semester in Spain. Alas, languages (other than English) are not my strong suit.

  4. My mother-in-law found the Only Oats products and I’ve been a fan of both the muffin mix and the oatmeal cookie mix. My daughter didn’t love the muffin mix but I think she’s suspicious of all muffins right now, despite assurances that they are GF. Only Oats also makes 1 Kg bags of wheat free/GF oats for a fairly reasonable price which I am ridiculously excited about as my girl has oatmeal every morning for breakfast. I think there’s also a pancake mix but we haven’t tried it yet.

    I’ve also been really enjoying the Catelli brand GF pasta. I don’t even normally like the regular Catelli pasta, but I think they’ve done a really good job with the GF pasta. I can’t tell the difference between it and regular pasta.

Leave a Reply

