10 Awesome Writing Blogs


They make one of these for everything, don't they?

There’s one of these for everything, right?

This is a writing post, clearly. But before I get to my list of awesome blogs, an aside:

Recently, I went out of my (solitary, antisocial, hiding-in-a-dark-corner) comfort zone and went on an audition. I know, insane. But there’s this national event called, Listen To Your Mother, and it features 12 essayists reading their work aloud on Mother’s Day. This is a stretch for me for two major reasons: one, I’m primarily a fiction writer (with the exception of what I write on this blog, of course) and two, I rarely have the occasion to read my work aloud. Not to mention in front of a huge audience.

The essay, in case you’re curious, compares my mother’s labor toward death, which I witnessed, to my own labor with Bunky. Two entirely different things, you’d think, but more like flip sides of a coin.

Me and my mom circa 77.

Well. The good news is that I mustered up my courage and auditioned. Even better, I reworked an unfinished piece and polished it up nice and pretty-like. The not as good news is I didn’t make the cut. They had over 70 auditions and only 12 spots. Plus, the essays need to tell a story of sorts, and perhaps mine didn’t fit in. Who knows. In any case, I’m proud that I gave it a shot. I plan on submitting the piece to other places and maybe it will find a home after all. Truthfully, I’d rather have it published and read by others than read it aloud in front of an audience.

Because most of us writers are not actually performers (though I’m sure some are). We tend to come from a more solitary stock, the kind that skulks in the back of bookstores and hunkers down in front of computers. But there are moments when we need help, and thank goodness for the Internet, because it is FILLED with free advice.

On the flip side, since we’re talking about flip sides, it’s very easy to get buried beneath TOO much free advice – the good and the bad. It helps to first find the writing blogs that you like, that speak to your style, and then keep track of them on something like bloglovin (you can even follow me on it).

Now hang on, don’t go running off yet. Be careful not to follow too many blogs, because you may find yourself reading a whole lot about writing, but not writing so much. OR, trying to incorporate too much of other people’s advice into your work. My friend and fellow blogger, Kath, wrote a post about this, and other writing challenges, here, check it out. She’s a fab writer and illustrator whose site I often turn to for both insight and advice (and this is why I’ve added her as my 11th awesome blog!)

Getting back on topic here, the key is finding balance – read only the blogs you love, then filter through the individual posts, taking in ONLY what you need. Ignore the rest. This is the tricky part because once you start reading, you may think, oh crap I have to change everything about my story/novel/essay. It can really mess with your brain. My advice is try not to over think and go with your gut instead. No one is an expert on your WORK except you. Sure, other blogs can help you hone your craft and perfect certain techniques, but only you know what your story, novel, poem, or essay needs.

This baby knows where it's at.

This baby knows where it’s at.

And now finally, here are the 10 writing blogs I’ve been perusing lately to help inspire me as I toil through my novel revision rewrite. Maybe a few will appeal to you. But if not, don’t worry. Just find the ones that do. (And then tell me about them!)

In no particular order…

10 AWESOME WRITING BLOGS

  • Helping Writers Become Authors … gotta love this blog name, and it happens to have some fantastic advice
  • Live Write Thrive … great posts on technique and grammar, plus a wealth of info in the archives, check out her older series, The Heart of Your Story
  • Fiction University (formerly, The Other Side of the Story) … insightful and practical posts by a fantasy writer, but the info is universal and spot on
  • Terrible Minds … do you enjoy acerbic humor and foul language as much as I do? If yes, then look no further, the advice isn’t shabby either (actually, it’s pretty stellar)
  • The Write Practice … where the other blogs are more advice driven, this is action driven with writing prompts and practice ideas
  • Moody Writing … another fab name, right? Solid advice and eye catching images may get you in the mood (couldn’t resist, sorry)
  • Write to Done … a place to go for inspiration and advice, plus writing prompts
  • Goins, Writer … this Goins character writes posts that are practical and inspirational
  • Writers Helping Writers … resources and hints from the authors of the Thesaurus series
  • A Design So Vast … not a writing blog per say, but this woman’s posts often blow my mind, turning the seemingly mundane into magic and inspiring me to do the same
  • * I know I’ve already hit 10, but I must add Minuscule Moments of Inspiration … the blogger I referenced earlier, whose writing and camaraderie I respect so much

There you have it. But this is only the tip of the iceberg of awesome writing blogs, so PLEASE share in comments about all the blogs I’m missing. Can’t wait to add them to my queue.

22 thoughts on “10 Awesome Writing Blogs

  1. Reblogged this on Haven of Inspiration and commented:
    I finished a writer’s course with Long Ridge Writer’s Group. For about $30 a month I got a tremendous amount of help books, A tutor, and an internet site which I was accountable for my assignments. I learned a tremendous amount. Every November they hold a Novel Writing contest. That’s where I lost my confidence. Me, a beginner trying for something like that. Well anyway, look into it. They have some wonderful teachers just waiting for the next student and it is so worth it!!!

    • Thanks so much for the reblog, I really appreciate it!

      The writer’s course you took sounds great, but I can understand how the idea of writing a novel could undermine anyone, not just a beginner! I hope you regained your confidence. Short stories and essays are great places to start. But novels don’t have to be too out of reach, just make small goals, like chapters or word/page count instead of thinking of the entire project at once. Good luck!

  2. I don’t have a blog suggestion but just wanted to say yea for you taking that leap to get your work seen…or heard in this case. 🙂 Please do share WHEN not if you get it published somewhere. 🙂

  3. I’m in awe of your courage! Trying things that are outside my comfort zone is not something that comes naturally to me, so I’m so impressed that you got up there and read your work. Of course now I want to read it, so I’m hoping that it finds a venue soon!
    I look forward to checking out some of these writing blogs. I’m always trying to improve my writing in each blog post but it’s so darn difficult! Recipe development is my comfort zone, writing, not so much. That’s why I’m going to hang out around here. Maybe your skills will rub off! 🙂

    • Your words are so kind, Terris! Thank you, it really feels great to be this supported by my online friends. Sometimes it’s more than I get with my in-person people! And it makes sense that you concentrate on the recipe part, which is most important for your blog! Your writing is great too, I have no complaints 🙂

      I do hope I get the piece published, but if you want, I could send it your way to satisfy your curiosity! You can always email me at danaheatherschwartz@yahoo.com

  4. It is always nice to see what blogs people admire. I know I love blogs that have to do with art and color. The problem is write the right info for your target market! Perhaps I will make a top list sometime with my blog!

  5. OK, I was reading about your delicious sandwich, and then the blogs, and was about to comment to say “what a great set of resources!” and then i saw my own name! What a shock and a lovely one at that. Thank you, thank you. I’m honored. xox

    • You’re welcome! But thanks back at you for such an inspiring blog. Your review of “Still Writing” by Dani Shapiro really resonated with me and I bought it right away. It came at a perfect time. I also love the poems you post, in fact, one of them (“For What Binds Us”) has helped me pinpoint and deepen my theme. Sometimes, “writing blogs” that help the most, aren’t “writing” blogs at all, but blogs written by wonderful writers.

  6. Pingback: How I Write, or, Pulling a Blog Post Out of My… | celiac kiddo

  7. Pingback: My Writing Process | celiac kiddo

Leave a Reply

