Gluten Free (duh) Burrito Bowl

When in doubt, burrito bowl. Seriously. That’s all you need to know in life. Well, about dinner, anyhow. Burrito Bowl is now officially a staple around here. Check out these satisfied customers.

Burrito Bowl eaters

I know something is a hit when Bunky actually asks for it. Like yesterday afternoon, I was doing my usual crying and moaning about what to make for dinner, and I lamely offered up my old standby for emergencies (um, which is every few days): scrambled eggs. This was extra lame since I knew we actually had no eggs. Bunky shot this down immediately and when I thought all hope was lost, she got excited and said, “I know, I know! Let’s have burrito bowl!” And we did. Even though we had no beans (thank goodness for the new deli around the corner), we did have most of the other staples: rice, shredded cheese, tomatoes, greek yogurt (for sour cream), and salsa. Woo hoo, dinner is served!

On a better night, I include strips of chicken breast seasoned with sweet paprika, salt and pepper. On a better night, my rice is fragrant with freshly squeezed lime and chopped cilantro (plain for the kiddos). On a better night, there are gorgeous slices of creamy avocado. No matter, though, because either way it works.

I was inspired by this post on Dinner, A Love Story where the author explains how she fancies it up on weekends (cilantro lime rice, for example) or goes fast and easy on busy week nights. I like those kind of options.

Here is my family’s version of the Burrito Bowl. Check out Little Guy, how cute is he? (Yes, I know I’m biased, but still, seriously.)

burrito bowl close up

Breaking it down, right here.

Chicken – 2-3 boneless breasts filleted by the butcher (or at home, but I so love when the nice butcher guys do the dirty work for me) so they cook fast, or a package of thinly sliced chicken. I like to pour some canola or olive oil in a pan and sprinkle with sweet paprika, salt and pepper, but you could use chili powder if your family allows spice. Cook through, about 4 minutes per side, or until you feel confident you won’t poison your family. (For me, this means hacking into the chicken with a knife a whole bunch of times because I’m paranoid.) Then slice into strips for fun.

Rice – Have I mentioned how much I adore my rice cooker? Seriously, it’s True Love. We had a play date yesterday afternoon while my rice cooker did all the work. (I tried to look up which one I bought two years ago, but couldn’t find it on amazon. For the record it’s a pretty simple Sanyo model and cost about $50). I like to use white or brown Lundberg Basmati, but any favorite rice or GF grain would work here. I have used quick boil in a bag rice, but my husband says it’s not as good. Regardless, when I’m feeling “fancy” I add freshly squeezed lime, chopped cilantro, and salt. Yum.

Beans – I use canned black beans and/or red beans that I heat up in a saucepan with a dash of garlic powder and black pepper. Maybe a splash of olive oil if I’m feeling crazy.

Those are the basics, the rest is based on your family’s preferences (or in my case, picky-nesses).

Yummy Add-ins:

Shredded cheese, Greek yogurt (or sour cream), chopped tomatoes, sliced avocado, chopped cilantro, lime, salsa.

Burrito Bowl ariel view

An ariel view, taken in a rush before being stampeded by starving family members.

I love a sure thing and right now this is it. Here’s hoping it lasts.

T minus 1.5 weeks until Kindergarten starts… I totally should be editing my celiac info letters for school, but I just can’t do it yet. I am SO not ready to dive into the real world, celiac style. I am enjoying our gluten free summer where I don’t have to explain anything to anyone. Sigh. Going to have to get into gear next week. Wish me luck!

 

I’m so happy to be part of Vegetarian Mamma’s Gluten Free Friday recipe link-up! Click the badge below for more great GF recipes.

gf friday badge

15 thoughts on “Gluten Free (duh) Burrito Bowl

  1. We LOVE mexican in our house too. Just had leftover rotisserie chicken enchiladas tonight (completely made up the recipe) and it was loved. Really all mexican food is the same ingredients, just put together differently, right? Personally I think it’s a great go to dinner, and healthy too…what more could one ask for? On another note, I will be thinking of you on the first day of kindergarten. Wipe your tears, chin up and know that Bunky will be good, if you are good! Last thought, another great fancy rice in tossing in some lemon olive oil, grating lemon rind on top and squeezing some juice over the top – yummy lemon rice!

  2. Hooray for simple weeknight meals! Your bowl looks pretty fancy to me…and, nope, it’s not just you, Little Guy is super cute. 🙂

    P.S. When I’m feeling super fancy I’ve been known to stick corn tortillas on top of a bowl under the broiler for a couple minutes. It gets all bowllike and crispy and I throw everything in there for an instant burrito bowl with benefits.

    • Thanks Kate! We used to do taco night a lot, but I think we may have overdone it. The easy thing about burrito bowl is that you don’t actually need any burrito wraps 🙂 Just rice, beans and extras. An easy + crowd pleasing dinner, which is a win win in my picky family.

  3. This is a staple at my house 🙂 LOL Thanks for linking up at our Gluten Free Fridays party! I have tweeted and pinned your entry to our Gluten Free Fridays board on Pinterest! 🙂

    Hope your week is great!

    Cindy from vegetarianmamma.com

Leave a Reply

