Spring is in the Air (finally!) and Awards, too

First flowers of spring from a few weeks ago. I moved the garbage before taking the pic.

First flowers of spring. Pic taken after I moved the garbage away. Hey, it’s city life, what can you do.

It’s that time again, awards! I feel pretty lucky to be on the receiving end of some new awards thanks to two bloggers I quite admire,Traci Carver and Kristine from Thank Heavens.

I feel like I’ve “known” Kristine for a while now. It could be because blog years are like dog years, since it’s been less than six months since we “met” online. Regardless of time, I love her blog, Thank Heavens, The Gluten Free Lifesaver, which is filled with delicious looking recipes and charmingly written posts, not to mention tons of helpful information about celiac disease.

Traci Carver’s blog is a more recent discovery. She’s a young world traveler who has returned to her small hometown to teach high school and bide her time until her next big adventure. But she finds plenty of small adventures close to home and writes about them cleverly. After her mother was diagnosed with celiac disease, Traci wrote a hilarious post about baking gluten free dessert for her mother’s party.

I’d like to thank both ladies for their generous bevy of awards. In order to keep things simple, and to keep my head from spinning off my neck, I’m going to consolidate by posting the badges and then sharing a list of great blogs. I made myself a bit crazy last time, trying to follow each blog award very specifically, but I think the heart of these “awards” is gratitude and recognition, to both the nominators and nominees.

Here is a general list of award “rules” which I forgot to include initially, but are important for those new to this sort of thing. Each award is a bit different, though the essence is the same. (Google the specific award names if you want more specific instructions.)

1. Link back to the nominator (that would be me in this case!)

2. Post all the badges in your awards post and/or on the side bar of your blog

3. Nominate your own list of blogs, the # depends on the award but seems flexible

4. Reveal a list of interesting personal stuff, or answer questions given to you by the nominator

5. Let the nominees know about their nomination by posting a comment on their blog with a link to your post

* Just so you know, there are no actual “winners” of theses awards! Something I had to figure out on my own, ha. It’s more about acknowledgement and encouragement. Spreading the love, that sort of thing.

Okay, so here are the Badges…

leibster-award sweet-blogversatileblogger111 very-inspiring-bloggerNow for my List (in no particular order) of Awesome Blogs…

Gluten Free Jenny (formerly Canada Jenny) – I love Jenny and her fantastic blog. Even though her daughter is newly diagnosed she already is baking bread with multiple flours AND using psyllium husks (which I have yet to use myself, ha).

Based on a Sprue Story – Molly’s amazingly hilarious and clever Celiac Fairy Tales, retold through the eyes of the newly diagnosed, made me an instant fan. And the name of her blog is awesome, too. Her posts are informative and clever. I always look forward to reading her posts.

Sensitive Flour – Another fabulously named site (as a former English major I can’t resist a good pun) and filled with great gluten and lactose free recipes written by a sensitive flower living across the pond in England.

Sophie’s Foodie Files – Anyone who posts a recipe for Gluten Free Boozy Smoothies has my vote, but Sophie has much more than one trick up her sleeve. Her site is filled with delicious and imaginative recipes, many of which are gluten free. She has a very helpful tab on her site that will quickly lead you to recipes in your dietary restriction of choice.

Fructose Free Me – I had never heard of fructose being a problem until I came across this lovely blog written by Donna who suffers from fructose malabsorption. Instead of lamenting the many foods she can’t eat (including garlic, onions, honey and wheat), she focuses on what she can and makes it look damn good.

Gazing In – Sarah’s site is filled with healthy and delicious looking recipes (many are gluten free) and snippets about her life in rural Washington State with her three beautiful boys. She also does lots of cookbook reviews, which are always helpful.

Almonds and Avocados – Rachel makes some of the most gorgeous looking (and tasting) gluten free pancakes and healthy veggie food around the web. I am often inspired by her beautiful salads and healthy smoothies. Did I mention her pancakes? Um, WOW.

My GI Journey – Laura is an Italian girl whose addiction to all things gluten went bust when she realized she was gluten intolerant. Her blog follows her new GF journey with humor and honesty, a winning combo in my book.

Fuck off Gluten – Okay, so you already know I’m a sucker for a good name and TJ’s hilariously irreverent and potty-mouthed blog is awesome. She is newly gluten free and pissed, but in a good way. Check out her GF journey and her attempts at baking GF bread (3 fails so far, but as far as I’m concerned, 4 times is the charm) among other great and successful recipes.

The Patient Celiac – Here’s one I forgot but totally meant to include! I’ve been following Jess’s blog since she started it. She is a doctor AND has celiac, and she posts very interesting and accessible articles from both a medical and personal perspective.

That’s it for now. I’m probably missing a few, but my brain is currently shutting down due to lack of food. Must dip into my kid’s stash of Cheddar Nut Thins and contemplate lunch. Hope you’re all enjoying some spring weather!

23 thoughts on “Spring is in the Air (finally!) and Awards, too

  1. Pingback: Little ‘ol potty mouth ME nominated for blogger awards! Say what?? | Fuck Off Gluten!

  2. Love the comparison that blog years are like dog years. So true! When you read so much about a person’s life, you start to feel as if she’s living next door 🙂

  3. Thank you so much for the nomination! I’ve posted a response on my blog now. (Hopefully making up for my general tardiness in these matters). Your nomination today finally kicked my butt into sorting myself out! I do really appreciate you thinking of me. 😀

  4. Awesome list Dana!! I am looking forward to checking out some of these blogs. Happy Spring to all of you. I was in NYC last weekend and it was lovely to see everything in bloom.

  5. Thanks so much, dear Dana! I don’t blog about my awards anymore: I have received more then 250 now but I am very grateful that you love my blog & thanks for the kind words of praise too! Thanks! xxxx
    Congrtas on your received awrds too! 🙂 x

  6. Thanks Dana! I’ve been off the radar for a while (you know why), and it was quite nice to pop by and see this lovely comment 🙂

    Lotsa blogger love to you x

Leave a Reply

