50 Posts and One Word

It’s hard to believe I’ve hit the milestone of 50 posts. With two kids, minimal sleep, and a barely any babysitting hours, it’s no short of a miracle, really.

So, what to write for this post? Should I talk about preparing Bunky for the next time she (inevitably) gets glutened? Hmm, that’s kind of a downer. How about something more upbeat, like a review of Better Batter’s awesome brownie mix? We ate nearly the whole pan in one day. (And would’ve finished it if I hadn’t hidden the last few pieces.)

This photo was taken minutes after it was baked.

This photo was taken minutes after it was baked.

I think for the 50th post something a little more personal is in order.

Recently I came across a blog calledΒ One Word, and the idea is to pick one word and live with it for a year. Meditate on it, journal about it, whatever. Basically let the word and its many meanings sink into your life, and perhaps change it.

As a writer and a word lover, this intrigued me. But I felt like it would be impossible to choose one word out of millions. Then it came to me.

nourish

And in a way, it actually fits with the original theme of this blog, which was to nourish Bunky back to health. I began writing about celiac and the challenges it posed for my family because that’s how I deal with stuff. I write. Before I had kids I was a writer. I got my MFA in Creative Fiction. I wrote a novel for my thesis, but short stories were my mainstay. Then I had kids, and well, I stopped.

When I started this blog, I sometimes wonderedΒ if I should have been using all those stolen minutes to work on my fiction instead. Why was I spending my super limited time writing about what I was living and breathing (sometimes ad nauseum) every day? But over time I realized that the blog was actually nourishing me. I was not only finding support and friends, but I started feeling like a writer again.

So this year, if I manage to stick with this One Word plan, I would like to continue nourishing my children, finding nourishment from this space, but also extend the definition further.Β I’d like to make a concerted effort to carve out babysitting time to work on my fiction, not just run errands and bake gluten free muffins.

Basically, it’s time for me to nourish the crap out of myself. And my husband, too, poor guy.

What word would you pick for yourself this year?

29 thoughts on “50 Posts and One Word

    • Thanks Mia! I love your blog, by the way. Your GF scone recipe looks great. Back in my “youth” I used to enjoy going to the gym and loved lifting weights. Since I had my kids, my time at the gym has been zero, but I do have pretty big biceps from carrying them around πŸ™‚ I look forward to getting that part of my life back sometime in the near-ish future. Until then, I’ll live vicariously πŸ™‚

  1. I. LOVE. THIS. And everything it says about trying to be good parent whilst keeping something back for yourself. It’s the essence of what I am trying to achieve and help other mums to achieve. Just perfect.

  2. Pingback: Tropical Smoothie + Yogurt Pops | celiac kiddo

  3. Congrats on the 50th post! This is a great topic. I’ve been working with the word “acceptance”. It’s such a useful reminder when I find myself coming unhinged about something that’s really not that big a deal. It’s a reminder to just be with what is. To be mindful. To accept myself, and accept others. It’s a simple but powerful practice. Thanks for sharing. Warmly, Marya

  4. Thanks for sharing! Nourish is such a great word. It can be used in every area of life. I grew up with allergies to a lot of foods and often could not eat what others were eating. I know it was a huge challenge for my mom. Thanks for all you do for your kiddos. Thanks too for stopping by my blog. Hope you’ll figure out a way to make the yummy lemon bars gluten free. :0)

    Melissa

    • Thanks so much Melissa. Nourish felt right to me and for this blog. I really appreciate your comment, too, especially from a grown up (former allergy) kid’s perspective. I’ll let you know how the lemon bars come out! Once I unbury my kitchen sink from dishes, I’m going to make them asap.

    • Oh, that’s a good one! I could use some patience myself. Sigh. Really, I could use a half dozen words, but then I probably wouldn’t do any of them any justice πŸ™‚

      And yay for meatloaf muffins! Hope your family enjoys them. I’m doing those tomorrow and baked ziti for Wednesday. That’s about as meal planning as it gets around here, ha.

  5. Pingback: Photo of the Week: Finding Balance ~ Mirissa Beach, Sri Lanka | tahira's shenanigans

  6. Pingback: Finding Balance | celiac kiddo

  7. Pingback: A Word and a Winner | celiac kiddo

Leave a Reply

