Taking a Stand

pie baked

I don’t take stands very often. To let you in on a little secret, I’m a little bit ambivalent when it comes to stands. Which is terrible, right? Taking stands is important, I know. Well, I’m going to take one now. Are you ready?

My stand is to stop GFGF. Don’t know what that means? Oh, but I think you do. It’s the comment many people say after sampling a homemade or store bought gluten free treat. “Oh, this is good for gluten free.”

Good for Gluten Free. It makes me nuts just to type those words. Why can’t a GF cookie just be good? Or how about really good, or awesome? Every time someone GFGF’s it proliferates the falsehood that GF is somehow lesser. It creates an unnecessary comparison of the two and the unspoken sentiment is that G is “normal” and GF isn’t. People say GFGF because they think they’re being kind, complimentary even. I know they don’t mean any harm, but it makes my list of things NOT to say.

Check out my VERY first homemade pie crust ever – GF or otherwise. Rolled out in front of a class of four-year-olds at Bunky’s preschool. I was sweating up a storm, but it turned out great.

pie unbaked

The masterpiece, before baking. Bunky is the girl in bright pink with excellent posture.

I made an apple pie for the class’s Thanksgiving Feast. I used this recipe for the crust and it was awesome. Not for gluten free, but in and of itself, awesome. Yet, I was the perpetrator of GFGF here, because in my excitement I said to B’s teacher: “You’d never know it was GF!” She agreed, but I wanted to bite my tongue afterwards. I should have said, “The pie came out great,” and left it at that.

My tray of allergy free pumpkin chocolate chip muffins, gobbled up in minutes.

My tray of allergy free pumpkin chocolate chip muffins, gobbled up in minutes.

The truth is, if I really want GFGF to stop, then I also need to change what I say.

Another way to help eradicate the myth that GF is less tasty is to bake delicious treats for people. My plan is to bake yummy holiday cookies and breads for Bunky’s teachers and staff at school. If I wasn’t so tired of pumpkin (yes, it’s true!) I might have made more of Nicole Hunn’s Pumpkin Chips Ahoy cookies. There is a frozen roll of these in my freezer for when I’m ready to pumpkin again. Which might actually be this afternoon now that I’m looking at the picture.

IMG_1494

Every year my cousin Peeps gives out baked goods as gifts and this year she is making them ALL gluten free. For everyone. The reason she’s doing it is partly practical, because this way she doesn’t have to worry about cross contamination, but also it’s because her GF creations are super tasty and there is NO NEED to make a G equivalent. Take that all you GFGFers! Check out her guest recipe posts here and here if you want to try some exciting and unusual flavors in your holiday baking.

[By the way, if you’re looking for original holiday gifts, Peeps has beautiful handcrafted bibs, totes, and clutches for sale at her Etsy site. The girl is crafty in and out of the kitchen!]

Do you share my irritation with GFGF, and if so, how do you handle it? Take a stand with me. Come on, it’s for a good cause. And besides, taking a stand by yourself isn’t nearly as much fun as taking it with your friends.

11 thoughts on “Taking a Stand

  1. The only time this comment is justifiable is when it’s about pizza. And…. I’ve still not found a pizza that is even good for gluten-free. Glutino came close with their spinach and feta, but they’ve changed their ingredients and formulation and now it’s half as good with almost twice as many calories!

    Other than that, the comments are slightly annoying, but it actually doesn’t bother me. Surprisingly, LOL.

    • The pizza thing is tough. I just made a decent crust using Nicole Hunn’s new GF Shoestring book, which my husband really liked, but my daughter wasn’t into it.

      The comments about GFGF bother me the most when they are said around my kid – I think that is actually the problem for me, because then she hears a message that her food is different and not as good as everyone else’s. Which makes me sad. And mad. Maybe I will clarify that on the post. Thanks for helping me figure that one out 🙂

      • Yeah – I can certainly understand that! Saying it around an impressionable kid is different.

        And the thing about pizza is that for me, it’s such a food of convenience. I’ve never really gone through the effort of making crust from scratch because I’m lazy about pizza. I didn’t do take out often, but I usually bought pre-made crusts and went from there. I’ve tried almost every store brand though and they’re all FOUL.

    • Hi Donna, thanks for your comment! You know, I used to like to wait until after they ate it and then I’d say, “by the way, that was GF…” but that kind of set me up for the GFGF. Which I think I mind LESS when my daughter is out of ear shot.

  2. Pizza: if you are in New York City go to Pie by the Pound. Their pizza is amazing. The New York Times had an article today in the Dining section by Catherine Saint Louis entitled “Removing Sacrifice from Gluten-Free” which I thought would make me cringe, and it did, in places. However, the author’s perspective is one of moving from a state of constant apology for gluten free toward feeling it can take an equal place at the table, and you can’t argue with that…She hosted a group an a banquet (really just 8 people but a demanding roster of dishes) with a number of unsuspecting diners. The fact is I have people to eat at our house fairly often (since dining out GF is very expensive and basically I have to bring my food when I go to other people’s houses) and I serve them delicious meals and I do not apologize or comment on its gluten status. For pete’s sake.

    • Hi Laura! We actually did go to Pizza by the Pound about six months ago and it was GREAT – probably the best GF restaurant pizza we’ve had to date. Which reminds me, we need to go again 🙂

      Thanks for the head’s up about the NY Times article. I did come across it and I agree with you. I liked the idea behind the article a lot, but also had some cringe moments, especially for all her (former) GF apologizing. There is certainly no need to apologize or comment on the G status, for pete’s sake indeed!

  3. Even ruder: (gushing with admiration) “I could never what you have to do” or words to that effect. Sure you could. If you “had” to…..

    • Oh, Laura, you’re so right! I’m adding that one to the list. I’ve heard that SO many times over the past year and a half, and it totally irks me even though I know (most times) people are trying to be complimentary but it comes off as weirdly condescending and annoying because of course they would if they HAD to. Ugh!

Leave a Reply

