Happy Birthday and a Pumpkin Round-up (last one!)

November 7th was Little Guy’s first birthday. I can NOT believe he is one. I feel like he was just curled up inside my belly waiting out the 2011 NYC marathon before deciding to make his super fast entrance into the world. Three and a half hours from start to finish. I remember waiting for my contraction to end before hurling myself into the car, and looking up at the star studded sky and hoping, praying, I would not have this baby in the backseat. Thanks to luck, my sheer will, and my husband’s speedy driving down the West Side Highway, empty at 3am thank goodness, except for that one truck that almost hit us. Not that I noticed or cared, since I was too busy screaming my brains out and squeezing the life out of my doula’s hands.

Here is my dear little one soon after his grand entrance.

It’s not easy being born.

And now, my beautiful, vibrant, funny little boy. Who is no longer a baby, to my utter disbelief.

So what to make this adorable human for his first birthday? Pumpkin cake, of course. But which one? As you know I’ve been collecting recipes like a loon. I have more to share now, including the winner, Nicole Hunn’s Pumpkin Butter Cupcakes with Molasses Frosting. Yum. They were a big hit with everyone. In fact, there is only one left after packing one in Bunky’s lunch box today.

The recipe calls for minis, but I made biggies. They were really easy to make, including the pumpkin butter, which is a fabulous ingredient to have on hand. Mix it in with yogurt or oatmeal, or try out these recipes: Chocolate Covered Pumpkin Granola Bars and Pumpkin Chip Cookies. I plan on it.

Here are a few other pumpkin recipes that I thought about making, and I’m sure would have been delicious. Maybe next year. Or next week. If I’m not sick of pumpkin yet.

My Favorite Pumpkin Cake by Real Food Real Deals, Pumpkin Bread by Book of Yum, Pecan Pumpkin Cake by Taste of Home.

Before we baked, we enjoyed a leisurely and LONG day – thanks to everyone’s early morning wake ups. Bunky had another day off from school because of her strep throat combined with no sleep situation. It worked out nicely though, to have the family all together. Especially because it snowed. Which is crazy. But it did, big fat huge snowflakes gusting in the wind. That would be a Nor’easter. A week after Hurricane Sandy. Sigh. Not cool, especially for those without power, or worse, without homes. But we spent a cozy day inside, lucky us.

Early wake up, maybe trying to replicate his 5:20 am birth.

What to do when holed up inside a small apartment with two kids? Bake of course. And hire a babysitter. Which is key.

Check out the pumpkin butter. Yum.

Bunky alternated between being my baking assistant and chasing bad guys with her awesome babysitter, D.

Don’t mess with this princess.

Little Guy enjoyed cruising around in his four-wheeler. Well, it was Bunky’s, but she was scared of it until a few months ago. He took to it like a natural. In fact, he will drive it himself and crash into stuff if not properly supervised. Which he probably should be since he’s only one. One!

Watch out! He doesn’t know how to use breaks yet.

Then after dinner it was finally cake time (not that we all didn’t have one for lunch). Bunky is such a great big sister. She loves her little brother so much. The feeling is mutual.

Happy Birthday my little man. You are such a sweet, happy guy. I can’t wait to see who you become. Just please slow down. I’m in no rush to have a crazy toddler, yet.

I’m happy to have shared this post at the Gluten-Free Friday’s link up party hosted by Vegetarian Mama, Eat.Live.Make, and Gluten Freed R.D.!  Click the links to find more great GF recipes.

12 thoughts on “Happy Birthday and a Pumpkin Round-up (last one!)

  1. TOO cute! Happy Birthday! I love my better batter too! Thanks for kicking off the Gluten Free Fridays party this weekend! WOOT! We have some awesome recipes and they just keep coming!! So….Thanks for linking up at our Gluten Free Fridays party! I have tweeted and pinned your entry to our Gluten Free Fridays board on Pinterest! :) Cindy from vegetarianmamma.com

    • Oh Cindy, for some reason your comments were hiding in my spam folder – which I just checked for the first time :( Sorry that it took me so long to figure that out. So, a rather belated thank you for your sweet comment about my guy’s birthday. Yes, Better Batter is awesome! Thank goodness for it. And thank YOU for hosting GF Fridays. Your invitation to me, way back during that first week, has really jump started my writing and I’m so grateful for that. Looking forward to this week!!
      -Dana

  2. Aww . . . Happy Birthday to your little man!! Sounds like you’re like me, the first year seemed so much quicker with my Baby Girl (2nd) than my son (1st). She even seems to be moving quicker, walking 3 months earlier than big brother. I can totally relate. Hope he enjoyed his pumpkin cake!!! And thanks again for visiting Nom Yum & Free. :)

    • Thanks so much Devin! It definitely has gone faster the second time around. I wonder if Little Guy will walk sooner, I think so! And he LOVED the pumpkin cake, and the pumpkin scones I just made today. Your site is wonderful, by the way. Can’t wait to make those lovely pumpkin butter cookies!
      -Dana

  3. I hate that. I would do almost anything to have someone invent a spray I could douse my kids in to make them stay little forever! My “baby” just turned 2 and I’m so not okay with it! Your cupcakes looked awesome- I’ll have to give them a try this weekend!

    • Oh my gosh, your girl is two?! That’s crazy. I can’t believe my big girl is on her way to five. Thanks about the cupcakes! They were awesome. I think I need to make more and use up that delicious pumpkin butter.

  4. Pingback: Thanksgiving, Debrief: GF Style | celiac kiddo

  5. Pingback: Trifecta of Celebrations | celiac kiddo

Leave a Reply

